Andrew Copeland, center, is the Coweta County Board of Education’s appointee to serve the unexpired term of District 5 representative Winston Dowdell, right. They are pictured with Board Chair Amy Dees, left.

By REBECCA LEFTWICH|Dec. 10, 2019 – 9:41 PM

The Coweta County Board of Education has appointed Andrew Copeland to serve out the unexpired term of District 5 representative Winston Dowdell.

Board members voted 5-1 Tuesday, with Dowdell abstaining and Linda Menk opposed, for Copeland after Frank Farmer’s nomination and Sue Brown’s second.

Copeland, a Newnan High School graduate, holds a management degree with a human resources emphasis from the University of Mississippi. He is manager of dispute resolution for Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers.

A member of the 2019 Leadership Coweta class, Copeland serves on the boards of Elevate Coweta Students – formerly Communities in Schools of Coweta County – and the Newnan Artist-in-Residence Program (Newnan ArtRez).

As District 5 representative, Copeland will serve portions of Newnan and central Coweta County for the remainder of Dowdell’s term, which extends through Dec. 31, 2020.

Schools in his district include Atkinson Elementary School, Jefferson Parkway Elementary School, Newnan Crossing Elementary School, Ruth Hill Elementary School, Welch Elementary School, Smokey Road Middle School, Winston Dowdell Academy, Newnan High School and the Central Educational Center.